Café QR

For independent cafés comparing payment models

A SumUp Order & Pay alternative for independent cafés

Café QR is a cloud POS for cafés, restaurants and pubs with QR table ordering built in. This page compares its ordering side with SumUp Order & Pay, whose published pricing model is different: SumUp starts with no monthly fee and a transaction percentage, while Café QR uses a fixed monthly subscription plus Stripe processing.

SumUp is a trademark of its owner. Café QR is not affiliated with or endorsed by SumUp. Competitor details checked on 4 August 2026 from their public websites; check current terms with them.

Café QR

Price check · Café QR vs SumUp Order & Pay


Café QR
From £9.99/month + 0% platform fee
SumUp published price
£0/month + 2.50% per transaction
Guest app
Not required by either product

Café QR platform fee
0%
Setup fee
£0.00
Contract
none

Checked 4 August 2026

FROM THEIR OWN WEBSITES

  • No card to start
  • Runs on any tablet or phone
  • No contract
  • 0% platform fee

Side by side

Compare the published details. Theirs and ours.

Prices exclude payment-processing charges unless the row says otherwise. Check the linked provider pages before making a decision.

  • Monthly software price

    Café QR
    From £9.99 per venue a month (Order & Pay) after a free first month
    SumUp Order & Pay
    £0
  • Published order charge

    Café QR
    0% Café QR platform fee; Stripe processing charges apply
    SumUp Order & Pay
    2.50% transaction fee
  • Dine-in ordering

    Café QR
    Table QR, live menu and paid order sent to staff screen
    SumUp Order & Pay
    Table QR ordering with ticket sent to the relevant station
  • Other ordering channels stated

    Café QR
    Table and counter ordering; collection and delivery on the £14.99 Order & Pay + Delivery plan
    SumUp Order & Pay
    Ordering ahead and click and collect
  • Loyalty and marketing stated

    Café QR
    Optional post-order sign-up and a café-controlled customer list
    SumUp Order & Pay
    Not stated on the official Order & Pay page reviewed
01

When SumUp may fit

SumUp’s published £0 monthly price can suit an owner who wants to avoid a software subscription and prefers a percentage charged on each transaction.

Its official page also lists ordering ahead and click and collect. Those channels may matter if the café wants one product for table and advance orders.

02

When Café QR may fit

Café QR may suit an independent café that prefers a fixed monthly subscription from £9.99, a 0% Café QR platform fee and a product centred on table ordering and repeat visits.

Each café connects its own Stripe account and remains the merchant. Guests can separately opt in to the café’s list after ordering; payment does not automatically create marketing consent.

03

What to calculate before choosing

Compare the full payment cost using your expected card mix and order volume. The published headline rates do not by themselves show the total cost for every café.

Also decide whether advance ordering is essential, whether a customer list matters, and how staff should receive paid orders during a busy service.

The app you’ll use

One glass dashboard. Open it on any screen, every shift.

Takings, live orders, tables and what needs you now, on a laptop, a tablet or the phone in your pocket.

The same dashboard on a phone.
  • Takings, liveTill, table QR and online orders in one number.
  • Kitchen on timeLate tickets flag themselves.
  • The floor at a glanceWho’s seated, and who’s waiting to pay.
  • Light or darkPick the look that suits your venue.

Switching from another till

Switching is easy. We do the heavy lifting.

  1. 1We load your menuSend a photo, a PDF or a link. We add the items, prices, options and allergens, free, while you're on your trial.
  2. 2Keep your card machineTake card on the machine you have and tap Card to record it, or move to a Stripe reader when you're ready.
  3. 3No contract, no setup feePay monthly per venue and cancel any time. The first month is free and needs no card.
  4. 4Run it beside your old tillStart with table ordering or the kitchen screen first. A Square till can be linked so paid orders are pushed to it.

What you need. Probably what you already have.

No proprietary hardware, and no setup fee.

  • The one you haveA tablet or phone
  • OptionalA card reader
  • OptionalA kitchen printer
  • NeededWi-Fi

Sources

Official pages reviewed. Check them yourself.

Ask before buying

Details we could not verify

  • Whether SumUp’s 2.50% published transaction fee covers every card type and whether VAT applies to any part of it.
  • SumUp Order & Pay’s customer marketing, loyalty and data-export capabilities.
  • The exact merchant settlement and payout terms for SumUp Order & Pay.

Questions

Straight answers, before you start.

Does SumUp Order & Pay charge a monthly subscription fee?

On SumUp's published page reviewed on 17 April 2026, SumUp Order & Pay lists a £0 monthly fee with a 1.69% transaction rate for online payments. Café QR's Order & Pay plan is £9.99 a month per venue with a 0% Café QR platform fee, plus your own Stripe processing rates.

What does Café QR include that SumUp Order & Pay does not state?

Café QR's £9.99 Order & Pay plan includes an opt-in customer loyalty list, WhatsApp and email offers, Epson and Star kitchen printer routing, and optional upgrading to the £39 POS plan with a full counter till, table tabs and food-safety records.

Can I use a SumUp card reader at the counter with Café QR?

Yes. If you take counter payments on a standalone SumUp reader, you can ring the order up on the Café QR till and mark it paid by external card terminal.

Prefer to talk it through?

Book a walkthrough or ask us anything.

Tell us about your venue and we’ll reply, usually within one working day, to plan your setup or show you round the till on a call. It’s an enquiry only: no card, no subscription and no trial started.

An enquiry only. No card or subscription required

We use these details to respond to your enquiry. Read our privacy notice.

This website uses cookies. Details